2020 Spring Southern League

The Southern League competition is the highest level club competition in southern Tasmania. New players can contact us and we'll put you in touch with a southern club or you can find club details here.

The Spring 2020 competition ran from Monday, 27 July 2020 and concluded on Monday, 30 November 2020.

Venue: Moonah Sports Centre - Gormanston Road (map).

Download the Southern League Policy Handbook (v2.3). Competition specific rules must be understood by all clubs and participants. Note: These rules may be updated by the VTI Competitions Officer prior to the start of the season.

A PDF version of the fixture can be downloaded here.

Please follow this link to update your registration.


Premiership Results:

Most Valuable Player voting can be viewed here.


Division 1 Women: Van Diemens def. Zuno Blues 3-0

MVP Erica Rice - Van Diemens

Van Diemens were favourites for the division 1 women's title, after losing only one match this season. Nevertheless, Zuno were feeling confident after their victory over Phoenix in the preliminary final, which saw them progress to their first div1w final since the 2016 Autumn season. However, in the end, the reigning State League Champions proved too strong winning in 3 very tight sets.

Division 2 Women: Van Diemens Blue def. Van Diemens White 3-1

MVP Amie Scruton (VD Blue) and Belinda Warren (VD White)

There certainly wasn't much separating these two teams all season, both teams finished with win/loss records of 10/2. The head-to-head was slightly in VD Blue's favour 2-1, which was enough to have them finish minor premier. Only 3 points separated the two teams in the grand final, with a determined VD Blue gaining revenge for their loss to the defending champions in last season's decider.

Division 1 Men: Van Diemens def. Vikings 3-2

MVP Kai Ibbott - Boss Eagles

After a dominant season, where they finished minor premiers and advanced straight to the grand final, the Van Diemens men defeated Vikings in a very tight 5 set match. The best final of the night was highlighted by some amazing attack and equally spectacular defence, only demonstrating how strong the men's competition in Tasmania is. In the end, the experience of the reigning State League Champions proved too strong.

Division 2 Men: Boss Hawks def. Van Diemens Volleyroos 3-0

MVP Bo Horton - Van Diemens

In the early stages of this final, it looked like these two old rivals were in for yet another epic battle. However, Boss simply had too many options in attack and the defending champions could not keep pace defensively. With the victory, Boss extinguished the Van Diemens win streak of 7 consecutive titles at this level. Interestingly, Boss were the last team to defeat the Van Diemens men in a grand final, way back in Autumn 2016. 


See past competitions here.