2019 Spring Southern League

The Southern League competition is the highest level club competition in southern Tasmania. New players can contact us and we'll put you in touch with a southern club or you can find club details here.

The Autumn 2019 competition ran from Monday, 5 August 2019 (for div2 men) and from Monday, 12 August 2019 (for div1 men/women and div2 women) through to Monday, 2 December 2019.

Venue: Moonah Sports Centre - Gormanston Road (map).

Download the Southern League Policy Handbook (v2.3). Competition specific rules must be understood by all clubs and participants. Note: These rules may be updated by the VTI Competitions Officer prior to the start of the season. A PDF version of the fixture can be viewed here.

In line with VTI policy, the majority of people's annual registration will be due in March 2019. Please follow this link to update your registration.


Premiership Results:

Most Valuable Player voting can be viewed here.

Division 1 Women: Van Diemens def. Boss 3-0

MVP Erica Bruderlin - Van Diemens

Boss were favourites for the division 1 women's title, after finishing minor premier and winning 5 of the 6 previous grand finals between these two clubs. However, the Van Diemens ladies were the reigning State League and Tas Open Champions and on this occasion proved too strong, extinguishing all hope in an epic 3rd set to clinch their first Southern League title in 2 years.

Division 2 Women: Van Diemens White def. Van Diemens Blue 3-0

MVP Natasha Ngoh - Van Diemens White

There certainly wasn't much separating these two teams all season, both teams finished with win/loss records of 11/4. Their head-to-head was slightly in VD Blue's favour 3-2, which was enough to have them finish minor premier. In the end, only 7 points separated the two in the grand final, with a determined VD White levelling the series 3-all and claiming the title.  

Division 1 Men: Van Diemens def. Boss Eagles 3-0

MVP Nicholas Jones - Van Diemens 

After a dominant season, where they finished minor premiers and advanced straight to the grand final, the Van Diemens men defeated Boss comfortably in the final. After somewhat of a drought for this team, it was their first title at this level in over 2 years, last winning the division 1 men's Autumn Southern League title on 3rd July 2017.

Division 2 Men: Van Diemens Volleyroos def. Boss Hawks 3-0

MVP Bo Horton - Van Diemens

It had been two and a half years since these two long-time rivals had faced off against each other in the grand final. In the early stages of the match, it looked like they were in for yet another epic battle. Ultimately, the Van Diemens men had too many options in attack, to win their 7th consecutive division 2 men's title. 


See past competitions here.